Urgent: Need Mass Vocal Opposition to Land Grab Bill

Update – see this post for most efficient ways to contact reps.

St. Edward Park and our State Park System needs your immediate help.

Wednesday, January 27, 1:30 the Senate Natural Resource Committee will consider a bill that will permanently alter the sale and exchange of State Park Land by the State Parks Commission. Currently, a unanimous consent of the Commission is necessary for sale or exchange of State Lands. This bill would allow a vote of four (out of seven) to transact Park business ( including sale of property ). The bill will significantly lengthen the lease time to eighty years.

Action: Urgent: Contact following Senators: Natural Resource Committee. Hearing January 27, 2016 1:30 P.M.

Message: Oppose Senate Bill 6377. Our priceless heritage in State Park Lands should not be sold or exchanged by majority vote. Keep the unanimous vote requirement by Commissioners. Retain the 50 year lease.

Here is the contact information for Senators. Priority to contact are indicated with *

Name Email Phone
*Senator Karen Fraser 22nd district karen.fraser@leg.wa.gov 360 786 7642
*Senator Pramila Jayapal 37th district pramila.jayapal@leg.wa.gov 360 786 7688
*Senator Maralyn Chase 32nd district maralyn.chase@leg.wa.gov 360 786 7662
*Senator Kirk Pearson 39th district kirk.pearson@leg.wa.gov 360 786 7676
Senator Brian Dansel 7th district brian.dansel@leg.wa.gov 360 786 7612
Senator Mike Hewitt 16th district mike.hewitt@leg.wa.gov 360 786 7630
Senator Judy Warnick 13th district judith.warnick@leg.wa.gov 360 786 7624
Committee staff: Curt Gavigan 360 786 7437
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *